A month into pityriasis rosea *UPDATE*

Before I begin again about my encounter and subsequent suffering of pityriasis roasea, I must apologize for my last entry and the gnarly photos I posted.  I understand it’s not the most kosher thing to post on the internet right next to a series of blog posts about product/diet reviews, and babies and puppies.  However, since I started my treatment for pityriasis rosea with the variety of unorthodox treatment options found on the internet (e.g. Head & Shoulder as bodywash, tanning beds 3 times a week, etc.), I figure I owe whoever is reading but is also suffering from this dreadful annoyance of a fleeting condition an update about how my progress is coming along.  The few days after I begin using H&S as a body wash, I noticed that my spots weren’t as evident and my yearning to constantly scratch the problem areas were slightly diminishing, but at the same time I was also getting new spots.  It never got to a point to where I was not itching anymore, but I did notice that I was scratching myself less.  

After walking out of the shower one night, I thought to myself, maybe someone at H&S’s marketing department decided to post on one of the forums I happened upon, claiming that by using their product as a body wash, it will help expedite the healing process.  Since there is no way to proof its validity as a form of remedy, it’s actually a pretty genius marketing ploy. 

go6jf

However, what if it was really just some random person who thought it was a novel idea to try something ridiculous — just to see if it actually worked and it just happens to coincide with their progress of PR retreating? And how silly would it be for me to actually believe it (when you’re that desperate, you’re willing to try anything)?! I am pretty sure I am not the only one who went out the next day to purchase a bottle of H&S to try and see if it worked.

I stopped using H&S as a body wash after a week.

So my progress is not getting better, in fact I have new patches growing on the sides of my thighs. And now I am thinking it’s because I stopped using H&S.  For a while, it had seemed like PR had stopped spreading, and I thought hey maybe I should stop using H&S as a body wash.  But a week without using it, and me discovering more patches expanding in my pelvic area, I am thinking maybe I should go back to using it.  I have however, kept up with the tanning, and I am not sure if it’s doing my new patches any good, but it is certainly helping the old ones heal faster.  Needless to say, I am about five weeks in with PR now, and the end of this annoying condition’s is nowhere in sight.  I am still getting new spots, and it’s getting particularly worse in my chest areas.

That’s it for now, I will post another update post when condition changes.

Leave a Reply

