Turn your handwriting into a computer font — the easy way

handwritingfont-01-01

It’s the Tuesday afternoon before my 5 day weekend — I just finished wrapping up this week’s work and I got a couple hours to burn before it’s time for me to leave. To make those remaining hours productive, I’ve decided that I want to 1) turn my own handwriting into a font, 2) do so with these cool calligraphy pens I just recently purchased from Japan Town in San Francisco, and lastly 3) write a blog about it because I haven’t written a blog in forever.

I have always thought that I have pretty decent handwriting – something that I took pride in when sending out handwritten notes and thank you cards.  After using this font generating software, and seeing how all the texts are coming together, my handwriting looks almost foreign to me.  Maybe it’s the way it’s putting all the letters together, but seeing it on the screen made me cringed a little — is that what my handwriting really look like? Versus when I write, my texts would be more fluid.

Truth be told, this is the easy, no-brainer way to turn your own handwriting in to font.  All you have to do is print, write, scan, and upload.  The legit way to do it actually involves using a software dedicated to font creation such as FontLab Studio, and spending hours meticulously combing through every serif, descender, lobe and bowl to make the font flow.

I used the website myscriptfont to create my fonts.  I experimented with a several different pens and writing styles.  My favorite two includes one that uses a calligraphy pen with a slanted tip, and a regular ball-point ink pen.   All you have to do is print out the PDF template, follow the instruction on the template, and scan your handwriting at 300dpi or higher resolution, save it as a JPEG, upload, and you’re done! Here are a couple of my handwriting samples.

Calligraphy pen

Calligraphy pen

ballpoint pen

ballpoint pen

I’ve decided to incorporate one of my handwriting fonts into a sample design project.  As with most handwriting style fonts, I find it the easiest to use it on chalk-style designs, or anything that mimics that style of design.  Nonetheless, my web-generated version looks more like a kid’s handwriting on a good day, and although it’s not remotely close to being a well rounded font for commercial use, this was a really fun experience, and I highly recommend it.  You can use your own handwriting font for custom signatures, labels, invitations, or whatever creative project that requires that extra bespoke touch.

 

Leave a Reply

